CHARACTERS ã White Ivy

SUMMARY White Ivy

The entire Speyer clan by attending fancy dinners and weekend getaways to the Cape But just as Ivy is about to have everything she’s ever wanted a ghost from her past resurfaces threatening the nearly perfect life she’s worked so hard to buildFilled with surprising twists and offering sharp insights into the immigrant experience White Ivy is both a love triangle and a coming of age story as well as a glimpse into the dark side of a woman who yearns for success at any cos I started WhiteIvy yesterday morning and found myself captivated from cover to cover totally invested in the story of Ivy from her complicated upbringing by her Chinese immigrant family to her transformation into an insecure but manipulative young woman who will do whatever it takes to win the love of a handsome wealthy man she s been pursuing since grade school I loved the cultural specificity in this story and thought the deep dive into Ivy s family and heritage really elevated her character and gave her depth and complexity In particular the juxtaposition between the generations of women in this novel grandmothers mothers daughters sisterswas what really set this book apart from other similar titles in the genre In addition the love triangle between Ivy and her two love interests is complicated and dangerous and sexy and wicked fun Fans of PrettyThings NecessaryPeople TheTalentedMrRipley TheJoyLuckClub and TheMajesties will really enjoy this one White Ivy is officially out September 8th

READ ☆ E-book, or Kindle E-pub ↠ Susie Yang

White Ivy

A dazzling debut novel about a young woman’s dark obsession with her privileged classmate and the lengths she’ll go to win his loveIvy Lin is a thief and a liar but you’d never know it by looking at her Raised outside of Boston she is taught how to pilfer items from yard sales and second hand shops by her immigrant grandmother Thieving allows Ivy to accumulate the trappings of a suburban teen and most importantly to attract the attention of Gideon Speyer the golden boy Wow There is nothing better than going into a debut and having it blow you away This seems to be the year of fantastic debuts and you just need to add this one to the list This book is a slow burn that is so elouently done that I could not look away I could not put this down it had an almost magnetizing element to it Susie Yang has arrived my friendsIvy Lin is a girl that pulled me in a million directions On one hand I wanted to feel sympathetic towards her Her family immigrated to America where she lived in a low income complex her family struggling to make ends meet As if Ivy didn t have enough personal turmoil trying to fit in her family sent her off to a exclusive school Grove Prep Academy It is here that Ivy gets a taste of the good life and decides it will be hers no matter what the costFor some reason Ivy has that something about her that just draw people to her They would see the good in her yet she was filled with dark disturbing thoughts Her moral lines were not drawn in the sand they seemed to move about whenever she needed something Yet stilleveryone seems to love Ivy She is a master manipulator and knows her game well She makes people want to do things for herAs she struggles to make it to the top stepping on people from her past just how far will she go The ending was one that I never saw coming I loved itHuge shoutout to Simon Schuster for sending this gifted physical copy my way in exchange for an honest review

Susie Yang ↠ 9 CHARACTERS

Of a wealthy political family But when Ivy’s mother discovers her trespasses punishment is swift and Ivy is sent to China where her dream instantly evaporatesYears later Ivy has grown into a poised yet restless young woman haunted by her conflicting feelings about her upbringing and her family Back in Boston when she bumps into Sylvia Speyer Gideon’s sister a reconnection with Gideon seems not only inevitable it feels like fateSlowly Ivy sinks her claws into Gideon and I m not even sure how to write this review but I really loved this book way than I expected to It s the story of Ivy a Chinese American who grew up learning to steal taught by her grandmother and always dreaming of having the finer things in life She becomes infatuated with Gideon an American classmate whose family is rich Soon after her parents ship her off to see relatives overseas When she returns five weeks later she learns her family has moved to a new home in a new stateand away from Gideon and another friend she hung out with Now as an adult after having a run in with Gideon s sister Ivy finds herself in his life like never before Her greed and desire for this new way of living will push her to places she s never known and will undoubtedly change the course of her life forever This book is not a heart pounding thriller It s a coming of age drama that has a low simmer of suspense throughout and is beautifully written by Susie Yang After a bit of a slow start 15% or so I found myself fully engaged and committed to the tale I was reading It s a slow burn but my no means boring I highly recommend for those who can stay invested in a book and want to peel back the layers of the characters 45 stars Thank you to Simon Schuster Susie Yang and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review


10 thoughts on “White Ivy

  1. says:

    Wow There is nothing better than going into a debut and having it blow you away ❤️ This seems to be the year of fantastic debuts and you just need to add this one to the list This book is a slow burn that is so elouently done that I could not look away I could not put this down it had an almost magnetizing element to it Susie Yang has arrived my friendsIvy Lin is a girl that pulled me in a million directions On one hand I wanted to fee

  2. says:

    This is promising coming of age thought provoking immigrant story slowly grows on you but you got to be patient enough for getting into Ivy’s world her family dynamics reasons behind the shame and motivations

  3. says:

    Just what was this cloak called privilege and how did it protect you Was it visible to the wearer or just to onlookers on the outsi

  4. says:

    ”You used to ask how your father and I got married That’s how It was because I willed it If I had been a stupider girl your father never would have looked at me But I saw my chance and made a story for myself—even if

  5. says:

    I’m not even sure how to write this review but I really loved this book way than I expected to It’s the story of Ivy a Chinese Am

  6. says:

    Many thanks to NetGalley Simon Schuster and Susie Yang for an ARC of this bookDark lyrical and utterly compelling Ivy Ling is a thief

  7. says:

    Holy hell This book knocked me out A kind of modern Great Gatsby meets Parasite White Ivy offers a look at the perversity o

  8. says:

    I was not expecting to like this book this muchIvy is a liar and a thief She is a Chinese Immigrant who wants to be successful live up to her parents' wishes and move up on the social ladder She grew up in a not so nice neighborhood in Massachusetts and is ashamed of her background She aspires to be like her White classmates because she thinks of them as symbols of wealth and success She develops an obsession with a boy named G

  9. says:

    I started #WhiteIvy yesterday morning and found myself captivated from cover to cover totally invested in the story of Ivy; from her complicated upbringing by her Chinese immigrant family to her transformation into an insecure but manipulative young woman who will do whatever it takes to win the love of a handsome wealthy man she’s been pursuing since grade school I loved the cultural specificity in this story and thought the

  10. says:

    I loved this book which is about a girl who immigrates to America from China and falls deeply in lovewith consumerism And also two very different menThis book is so beautifully and lyrically written It has echoes of The Great Gatsby and The Secret History I was completely consumed by this book so that I was unaware of any

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *